PREV | NEXT

OLDER
G-BOOK
PROFILE
LINKS
HOST

when music hurts
2007-12-06 | 1:21 p.m.

my cousin asked me the other day about what i think about rufus wainwright's newest album "release the stars". my answer to him was that i have not listened so much to it, 'cause there is more hurting songs on this one than there is on his other albums. i don't know why. of course it isn't the only excuse. but that was my statement to him at that point...so of course our conversation developed to the whole fact about when music hurts. there's different ways of hurt of course...but this entry is about the music that really gets you, make your tears roll down your cheek, your mind spin and makes your chest feel like it's cracking from the pain.

it made me think about the fact that people always are so busy making lists of the music they like and listen a lot to...i've never seen a musical blacklist. not a blacklist of the music you really hate...no...a blacklist of the music you adore (or once adored) but is ruined because of the overwhelming pain and nerve-racking memories.

songs that make me hurt and think of darker times - ladies and gentlemen, here's my blacklist:
1. "samson" - regina spektor
2. "fyrv�rkeri" - entakt
3. "kunsten at slippe taget" - entakt
4. "you get me" - teitur
5. "find my baby" - moby
6. "not ready to love" - rufus wainwright
7. "the one you love" - rufus wainwright
8. "all of your days will be blessed" - ed harcourt (how odd that must sound)

(no. 1 is the worst of course). as i tried to explain before, this blacklist must not be interpreted as songs i hate or that the songs are bad - anything but. they are just dangerous songs for me. and there's probably more...for instance nick drake somehow has the same effect on me.