PREV | NEXT

OLDER
G-BOOK
PROFILE
LINKS
HOST

what is christmas?
2012-12-25 | 11:57 p.m.

my grandmother died earlier this year. she has always been a huge part of my christmas, so it was weird going through a december month without her. but it have made me rethinking the christmas.
firstly i've come up with this christmas event for my dearest friends where i serve them a lot of home made christmas snacks and decorate my living room so you can't leave my home without feeling a wee bit of that wonderful christmas spirit. see a picture here below from that cosy afternoon:

julestue <3

another thing that has changed this year is the place where we celebrate christmas eve. me and my mum even went to church yesterday. we normally do not do that...

...but that was also what made me think about things. during one of the prayers i stopped praying, asking myself why i did this? i do not believe in the whole bible thing to be more than just a good story that everybody knows because we have been taught about it sometime in our childhood. but....

is christmas not all about this thing? and if it is, is it then possible to celebrate christmas in the future without the christ in the mas? i loooove this holiday tradition, but could it be possible to get rid of the religious part of it and just focus on the family and the cosyness?

i looked it up today, and just as i had thought and somehow already knew, the christmas is a (in denmark at least) mix of the old nordic j�l (in english yule) and the christian celebration of the jesus baby being born.
j�l came first and was originally a celebration of the light coming back - having a party around the equinox - with a feast and lots of mead, which is a huge part of the way we celebrate christmas today.
I don't think I need to mention the christian way of celebrating this tradition...all i can say is that it should be possible to celebrate yule without the christian part. maybe it should be my project for the christmas next year...