PREV | NEXT

OLDER
G-BOOK
PROFILE
LINKS
HOST

New York City � a study trip (part 1)
2003-04-22 | 1:38 a.m.

(okay. I was in New York for about 6 days and there's a lot to tell so I've splitted my telling about the trip in 2 parts (one of them maybe bigger than the other) so you don't have to read so much in one time. There's no pics, 'cause I can't find any places were I can have them hosted, but I'll try. enjoy.)

Day 1 � from Denmark to the US:

All the way from Kolding to Copenhagen I was left alone�. I couldn�t even hear music on my discman, �cause there were no power at my seat. So I just sat and stared. When we finally arrived to the airport I sticked to Vibeke and Penille. That went pretty fine.

In the plain I got to sit beside some girls from the other class. They were pretty annoying and in the end of the flight they had a little bitchy fight with another girl from their own class because one of them kept talking about plain crashes.

I spent some of the 8 hours of the flight by playing backgammon, watching Friends (2 times) and Harry Potter. Heh.

When we finally got off the plain and got our luggage. We went to the arrival hall where there were 10 soldiers with weapons walking around. Pretty scaring, but somehow I couldn�t take it that serious.

We got on a bus driving us into Manhattan. It was crazy driving in that bus�people simply don�t care over there and yet again they drive around in very exclusive and expensive cars.

When we finally reached the HOSTEL (I refuse to call it a hotel!! No way!) where we were supposed to live in a week. The staff told us that they hadn�t booked any rooms for us�.then we moved back and forward from room to room in an hour or so before the staff gave us some temporary rooms so we at least could get some sleeps. But I couldn�t I felt ill and (already) missed everybody at home in Denmark. I only slept for 2-3 hours and was ready to go sightseeing at 5 AM in the morning. Heh.

Day 2 � The Cremaster Cycle

No one got any sleep that night. But somehow they all had got the impression that I had homesickness. (hey it wasn�t that bad�.stop feeling sorry for me�I don�t need any of you!)

We started that day by taking a walk through Central Park (our hostel was right beside it). In many ways it�s a beautiful park�.you forget your in a very very big city�but that�s it, �cause it isn�t anything you haven�t seen before (grass, trees, rocks, lamp posts and a lot of runners!).

Suddenly we stood on the street crowded with yellow taxies and right in front of us was Guggenheim Museum. We went to see The Cremaster Cycle exhibition in the Guggenheim Museum. It was strange to see but in some ways an experience I�ll never forget.

Afterwards we went outside to walk along Fifth Avenue, seeing all the expensive apartments (well they have another name for them�but I can�t remember it right now) from the outside, the famous Hotel Plaza and then the very expensive stores of designers and so on. We also passed Rockefeller Plaza, Rockefeller Center and Radio City Music Hall, before we took the subway to a flea market which had cancelled that saturday. So most of us went back to the hostel. I took a bath and went strait to bed.

Day 3 � ms. Liberty

We woke up very early again. Then we took the subway down to American Museum of Natural History. The worlds largest and (I think) most boring museum. It was so big that you needed a map to find everything, even the exits from the different exhibitions. At last we found the cafeteria downstairs and some chairs (you get really exhausted by all the walking and sightseeing).

Afterwards we went to The Circle Line to take a semi cruise so we could see Manhattan from the outside and the famous Statue Of Liberty. The sun was shining and it all looked fine so I chose to sit outside so I could get better pictures (and to avoid my class). That was something I quickly regretted��cause the wind was so cold and I�d forgot how the weather is on the sea (almost always a bit colder than on ground) and I�d left my sweater at the hostel. So I had a freezing trip but I took a lot of pictures.

I didn�t get the warm before we got back on the hostel were there was no warm at all �cause the warming system was down. So we had a very freezing night.