PREV | NEXT

OLDER
G-BOOK
PROFILE
LINKS
HOST

New York City � a study trip (part 2)
2003-05-30 | 10:18 a.m.

(ok�..so now i�m gonna tell you about the rest of my studytrip to New York. (I will try to remember as much as possible) The last part will be up during next week. �cause today I�m going to Copenhagen!! Weee� Tim in concert with all the lovely people. Argh! I�m restless�hahaha. Silly me. Anyway. Here we go.)

Day 4 � from the UN to MTV or should I say emptyv?!

We woke up freezing cold. My nose felt like falling off. Our teachers went to the staff and had a little word or two with them. And off we went. Out in the cold and grey street to go down and take the subway so we could arrive in time at the UN building in our pretty clothes (most of the boys in suit and tie). It started snowing (?!) when we finally reached the UN. We were told to leave our bags in a little building outside and then we went to a sort of tent with metal detectors and police men. Then we finally found our guide who guided us around and showed us different congress rooms and that kind of stuff. Afterwards we were shown to a little room down in the basement were we had a briefing for some hours. Boring, but I managed to keep myself awake. After the briefing we was on our own for the rest of they day. It was snowing heavily.

I ended up walking with Kathrine, Bianca, Lisette and Bob (I really can�t take him!). We decided to go to Times Square and try to find a mall or something were we could walk around inside in the warm and shop. We had several stops before we ended up at Times Square and my feet went wheat and freezing cold even before the others found a place were they could get something to eat. When we finally were on Times Square we looked a bit around, went to a very big Toys �r� us with a big wheel inside and everything. Then I saw an electronic store right across the street, I wanted to go there to see the price of the digital camera I�ve falling in love with. Heh. So I convinced the others to go out in the snow and over the street. But before we even got there, a lady from MTV stopped us and asked us where we were from and if we knew about MTV in Denmark and if we were free to 17:00 that afternoon. So we were and before we knew about it, we stood in line to the TRL studio. It was nice to come inside in the warm studio. Maybe it was a bit too warm. But the most important thing was that my feet managed to get warm during the show, before we went out in the snow again afterwards. In some ways it was fun to try being an audience but there wont be long from you think it�s all very cool and am excited to you change your mind and realize how fake and stupid it is. You have to stand up yell and clap your hands and then sit down and be quiet at least 100 times during the show. Then people tells you what to do and not to do and last but not at least you have to act happy about the �music� you don�t like!! One of the funny things were when the host failed in his script (the show were live) and then Bob were asked by the funny looking producer to throw some snowballs at a screen with pictures of Britney Spears. Hehe.

After the show we went down to the mtv-store (cause we could get 20% discount because we had been audience). And there I found a cd with 7 up-coming bands were one of them were the raveonettes to $5 I should have bought it but I thought the line was too long so I dropped it (DOH!). We went back to the snow and finally got to the store with my digital camera. It costs $450 (around $193 less than here in denmark). After that we went back to the hostel wet and cold. Back home they�d got the warm system up again. Aaah. But we only stayed there for about an hour or so before we had to go out in the snow again to go to Empire State Building. Finally we got to the building and found out that the sight wasn�t any worth because of the low clouds, so we were free to do what we wanted again. I think I went with some of the others in the cinema. We walked around on Times Square looking for a cinema (they are not easy to spot because of all the lights). We finally found one with 25 cinemas (spread on 7 storeys) and nice chairs. Heh. 8 out of 10 fell asleep during the movie. They have really good chairs in the American cinemas. Aaah.

I slept very tight that night.

Day 5 � nice guide and Chinatown can be creepy�

The program of the day was rescheduled because the wife of the manager of the Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum� s wife had died in a plane crash. So the museum was closed that day. Of course we didn�t get some time off instead. Our �lovely� teachers quickly arranged a trip to a cathedral somewhere close to our hostel. They say that the cathedral (st. johns cathedral) is the largest one in the world�.when it�s finished in about 50 years or more. They�ve been working on it in about 150 years now�but it still isn�t finished.

Then we walked a bit again and got to Columbia University where we got a guided tour by an ok looking guide. Tihi. We were told that the university had been parts of movies as Ghostbusters, Spiderman and the latest movie was some with Jack Nicholson (?) and Adam Sandler (I think it was) in the leading roles. There were some peace-demonstrates who lived in tents in the middle of the lawn which was full of snow (and here I was complaining about my feet getting cold and all that shit!).

After saying goodbye to the great guide. We took a cab to The Royal Danish Consulate General were a Danish (I can�t remember what her were exactly) businessman gave us a lot of facts about the differences between new york and denmark. A bit boring but it could have been worse. We were just told NOT to fall asleep like some of us did at our visit in the UN Building. Haha.

Then we went to Chinatown where a lot of the girls wanted to shop. I just wanted to go to the lower east side (right beside chinatown) to see teany. A little caf�/restaurant for vegans, owned by moby (uh I just love that guy he�s so cool!). but unfortunately no one wanted to go with me. So I just had to stick by who ever I ended up with and go shopping. I found a perfume for my mother (flowered by kenzo. She loves it). Suddenly it was getting late and Chinatown got more and more creepy so we wanted to grab a taxi home. But all the taxies in chinatown were �off duty�. For the first time in New York (Manhattan) I felt trapped and really scared. But I was with 3 boys from my class and we decided to walk out of Chinatown and all the way to an avenue where there suddenly were a lot of free taxies. I felt save again.

Day 6 � art school and criminals

For the first time on the trip we were moving outside manhattan. We were going to queens right across one of the two rivers surrounding manhattan. We took the metro and had to change train on our way. We changed from a �standard�-train to an ugly older train. I almost fell asleep (it�s exhausting to explore the big city) in the train. When I opened my eyes again we were in queens. An abandoned looking place with a lot of factory buildings. When you walk in the empty streets in queens you kind of expect a rat to come running or something. Well we were going to visit a school. An art school. A man called Peter with a very curly afro looking hair and a piercing in his nose (I think it was) welcomed us and showed us a bit around and told about the school. It was a bit exiting. We were told that many of the children there was sad that we came to visit them exactly that day. �cause those who wear a sign had chose not to say a word that day. They kept a day in silence in compassion to those lesbian or gay people who had been killed or tortured because of their sexuality. Some of the children had a hard time keeping their mouth shut and ended talking to us anyway while others just sad and stared and talked to us by writing on a paper asking questions. It was fun. Peter showed us a great place to get something to eat afterwards. it was a buffet with a lot of delicious food and fruit. Nam nam.

Then we went back to manhattan again. We went to criminal court on lower manhattan. (criminal court is a court having trials 24 hours a day with everything from murders to thiefs). It turned out to be boring because you almost couldn�t hear what they said and then they did a lot of paperwork most of the time. So we went home to the hostel again.

In the evening we went into Empire State Building again. we were told that the sight was a bit better today but we couldn�t go outside because of fallen ice. So we went up anyway �cause soon it was our last chance before we were going home to denmark again (actually it was our last night in NY). We went up on 86th storey (you get dumpling in the ears) and saw the many lights from the town. I took some pictures (of course) but they haven�t turned out in the best quality because I had to take of the flash so it wouldn�t go in conflict with the window. We went down again.

I ended up taking a limousine with a girl and 8 boys from the class. we drove around Times Square �cause none of the others knew a thing about what to go and see. So I suggested that we went to see the Dakota Building (the building were john lennon lived before he was shot down right in the main entrance to the building (to those of you who didn�t knew that). I think yoko ono still lives there) and my suggestion were accepted. Of course they all asked what the thing was with Dakota building (one of them thought that john lennon was Elton john..silly thing.heh.) and I told them. When we arrived the driver drove to the main entrance and took our cameras and took pictures while we just sad in the limousine and tried to look out in the darkness on Dakota building. Afterwards we drove home.

I went upstairs to pack my things and get ready to leave the next day. And then I went downstairs in the party room in the basement to have a beer with the others. A part of them were already drunk and danced around to the silly �music� they played at the stereo. (one time they played a Dizzy Mizz Lizzy -song in about 30 sec.). suddenly they all sang that I should take off my pants. I just laughed at them and stood up and did like I was about to take them off. Hahaha�.never ever have I seen my class being SO quiet and looking SO funny. I sad down again and laughed and then the others almost cried in all their laughing. Haha.