PREV | NEXT

OLDER
G-BOOK
PROFILE
LINKS
HOST

New York City � a study trip (part 3)
2003-06-04 | 1:14 a.m.

(I'm gonna tell you about the great weekend i just had in Copenhagen during this week. but here you have the finally and last entry about my trip to new york sometime back in april):

Day 7 � a tragedy. Home sweet home.

We moved out of our rooms an placed our luggage in one of the other rooms. Then we were off to the Intrepid Sea-air-space museum. I walked around alone seeing all the war machines. I found it very boring. Outside it was cloudy, raining and cold. Though I was bored on the museum I was the last one to sit down at McDonalds and eat my launch. Hmm.

After intrepid we went into Ground Zero. We had to walk some of the way. The closer we got more and more police and road blocks showed up. Finally we could see the ground. Or..we had to follow a fence with green stuff on so you couldn�t see anything. Then we could see the ground. A hole with a lot of trucks and cranes in it. Some of the buildings surrounding the ground was still damaged. One of them had a big hole in the wall some storeys down and 2 buildings were completely closed cause they can�t figure out if they are so damaged that they will fall apart or if they should destroy them completely and build new buildings. one of them was a very old building (around 1900 I think). There were a wall with a lot of drawings, pictures and letters to the many victims. You could still see the underground carpark�that was a bit scary. People walked around looking. Some laughing (or just smiling) some just were quiet and some sad. I got everything except sad.

After that we was supposed to go and see The New York Stock Exchange. But it was closed for tourists. We went to see it from the outside anyway. Police and fences everywhere. At least 5 helicopters flew around in the air around south manhattan all the time. We walked down to the battery park (the southernmost of manhattan) where the �world peace� monument from wtc stood. It was pretty damaged. They had moved it down there in march 2002 and lightened a eternity flame for all who lost their lives. Now you can ask yourself how much that sculpture symbolize world peace today?!

Then we went to a tiny museum on former police station were you could by a souvenir and then support the victims of September 11th. Some of it was ok. I quickly got tired of it all and went outside.

Me and some of the others went to find a metro so we could get back to the hostel and relax a bit before the trip home. Or�I even think we went to macy�s and I found the coolest converse allstars (which I didn�t by) and a gift to my little brother before we headed back to the hostel.

The time quickly passed and suddenly we had our luggage out in the bus and drove through half of manhattan out to new ark airport. We got on board (I got to sit by the window : ) but by Kathrine :/). We got off and because of the great weather we were able to see all of manhattan plus a lot of new york by night from the air. A lot of beautiful lights. Really really beautiful! I fell a sleep after some games of backgammon and woke up again somewhere across england and looked even more forward to get away from the cruel people and home to all the lovely people and my room.

Conclusion: I have to go to new york at least one more time before I die. But with some people I love or by myself and NOT with all those stupid people from my class! new york new yoooork�.here I come. Hihi.