PREV | NEXT

OLDER
G-BOOK
PROFILE
LINKS
HOST

mixtapes
2009-01-13 | 11:25 p.m.

me and M started making our mixtape the other day...and before i knew it, i'd started making mixtapes to even more of my friends. some of them longer than other ones... they consists of songs that somehow reminds me of the person the mixtape is made to. whether it reminds me of a certain experience i've had together with this friend, the friend recommending some music to me, dedicating a certain song to me or just the song/artist reminding me of the friend one way or another. i've even made cover art for the mixtapes, only containing the initial of the actual friend. it's remarkable to see how different they turned out:

M
teitur:
'shade of a shadow'
'josephine'
i run the carousel
damien rice:
'9 crimes'
blower's daughter
jack johnson:
'banana pancakes'
'bubble toes'
fiona apple:'i know'
'sleep to dream'
ed harcourt:
'apple of my eye'
jet:
'are you gonna be my girl'
figurines:
'the wonder'
'i remember'
'let's head out'
the white stripes:
'blue orchid'
'my doorbell'
'we're going to be friends'
malcolm middleton:
'stay'
wake up jacob!:
'b�rnefamilie s�ges'
beck:
'everybody's gotta learn sometimes'

A
loney, dear:
'hard days 1,2,3,4'
'sinister in a state of hope'
'i fought the battle of trinidad & tobago'
'i tried to talk but nothing was told'
'i love you (in with the arms)'
bon iver:
're: stacks'
doveman:
'honey'
the midlake:
'chasing after deer'
benni hemm hemm: 'whaling in the north atlantic'
'i can love you in a wheelchair baby'
'beethoven � brasil�u'
billie the vision and the dancers:
'groovy'
jens lekman:
'postcard to nina'
peter and the wolf:
'safe travels'
nico muhly feat. sam amidon:
'the only tune: III the only tune'
department of eagles:
'teenagers'
gustav mahler
'5th symphony in c sharp minor 4th movement'
fleet foxes:
'tiger mountain peasant song'
los campesinos:
'you! me! dancing!'
neil young:
'birds'
middle east:
'blood'
shugo tokumaru:
'parachute'
noah and the whale:
'2 atoms in a molecule'
jon brion:
'little person'
malcolm middleton:
'total belief'
bob dylan:
'make you feel my love'
josh rouse:
'nothing gives me pleasure'

D
mamas and papas:
'make your own kind of music'
the white stripes:
'hotel yorba'
tim christensen:
'21st century high'
'caterpillar'
'don't leave me but leave me alone'
'kings garden'
the clientele:
'reflections after jane'
the libertines:
'what became of the likely lads'
bugpowder
'indian mode'
arctic monkey:
'i bet you look good on the dancefloor'
junior senior:
'white trash'
the beatles:
'being for the benefit of mr. kite!'
dear:
'love rain'
ed harcourt:
'something in my eye'
'fireflies take flight'
dizzy mizz lizzy:
'rotator'
isobel campell & mark lanegan:
'ballad of the broken seas'
the raveonettes:
'do you believe her'
girlfriend:
'this last song'
superheroes:
'miami'
'johnny and i'
'cool girl'
swan lee:
'flowers in the wintertime'
tori amos:
'gold dust'
placebo:
'bulletproof cupid'
radiohead:
'how to disappear completely'
'knives out'
suede:
'positivity'

A
larsen and furious jane:
'fine'
'cupidstunt'
'friday'
david bowie:
'oh! you pretty things'
'drive-in saturday'
'changes'
my friend george:
'i wanna know about your boyfriends'
'tupelo'
lise westzynthius:
'french leaves'
shout wellington air force:
'disaster uh, oh!'
leonard cohen:
'suzanne'
speaker bite me:
'teach me tiger'
'belle de boskoop'
the blue van:
'the blueverture'
'i remember the days'
the notwist:
'good lies'
figurines
'the air we breathe'
1 2 3 4:
'saddest'
lou reed:
'satelite of love'
under byen:
'legesag'
jacob faurholt & sweetie pie wilbur:
'pictures'
opiate:
'perdot'
murder:
'naming the demon'
teitur
'to meet you'
jomi massage:
'bruises & disasters'
the knife:
'n.y. hotel'

i could keep on going. T, R, T, D and C even got some songs...but not actual lists yet. and every time i think of a person that means something to me, i find more and more songs for mixtapes. maybe i'll bring more up later on. anyways...funny to see the difference huh?!

oh...by the way...i had my second last examination this winter, today. the much hated grammar test. i think it went well actually. and now it's over with. finally. cross your fingers that i passed this time. i have to! i stay at my parents house these days in order to finish up my last assignment before i can finally get back to my life, sit back and relax and do whatever i feel like when i feel like it for 2 weeks before the new term starts at uni, the student house opens up again and the concerts at godset starts again. yay. it's going to be a wonderful spring.