PREV | NEXT

OLDER
G-BOOK
PROFILE
LINKS
HOST

reflect on 2006
2006-12-31 | 1:17 a.m.

life: wow what a year. i started out working in the day care nursery. having a good time as far as i remember. still young and innocent. all that changed during the spring. sending out apply's for different educations. looking for my first apartment. going to the roskilde festival all by myself. having a good time. packing my room in boxes. not getting accepted to my dream education. moving to �rhus anyway. getting accepted to danish literature at the university in kolding. moving back to kolding in my own apartment. starting at the university. getting new friends. getting used to being a student again. trying to keep my living and my life together. i have never cried so much as i have in 2006. it's weird to think about how many times i've had reasons to cry previously in my life. until the fall 2006 i almost never cried. but that's changed now..apparently.

love: what can i say.... actually i would prefer to keep this part mostly to myself, but i can tell you that; i think i had my first boyfriend. jk. and then later on i experienced falling in love for real. which is a really weird, lovely, confusing and destructive (unfortunately) feeling at one time. as a friend assured me sometime during the summer when i thought i was in love; "being in love is a much more excited feeling than just having a crush". oh and right he was. only a month later i experienced that exciting feeling....losing control. unfortunately.

music:of musical highlights of the year; flaming lips in the tivoli gardens in may. watch this clip and maybe you'll see why. it was also in may i discovered this really wonderful band, grizzly bear. and in may i made this flyer to josh ritter's show in copenhagen >

which (the flyer) got really praised. he got this happy! >

then there was roskilde festival and a lot of fucking great concerts. especially wolfmother. in august i experienced this kind of historic thing....when dizzy mizz lizzy got reunited for one night. man they rocked!! in september i finally saw the wonderful antony live with his johnsons. mmm. it was beautiful. november was supposed to be unbelievable cool but as you may know, it didn't went that way as both grizzly bear and babyshambles cancelled their shows. and i didn't have the money nor company to go and see ed harcourt....

having said all that i will end this entry by showing a list of the records that have rocked my world during 2006:

.jk and co. - "suddenly one summer" (1969)
suddenlyonesummer
a friend of mine sent me this really psychedelic number 'fly' right before i had to go to the roskilde festival, because that was the track that totally ruled him at that point. so i put it on my ipod and didn't listen to anything else during the whole festival spending time on my own in my tent. i loooove it! so i had to get the record shortly after arriving home from the festival. it's the record of the summer! my summer of 2006.

.ben kweller - "sha sha" (2002)
shasha
that record rules. i've had it for many years now. but i still keep listening to it now and then. i know all lyrics by heart and do not hesitate bawling along. it's a record i can listen to all the time. loves it. that man is too underestimated.

.the whitest boy alive - "dreams" (2006)
whiitest boy alive - dreams
i've fallen in love with this record. you can do everything while listening to it....dance, drink, cry, do the dishes and so on.

.explosions in the sky - "those who tell the truth shall die, those who tell the truth shall live forever" (2001)
thosewhotell
i rediscovered explosions in the sky this summer so i ordered this record home. it appeared to be one of the greater things i've done this year, as it's a quite dark record and it suited my mood perfectly during the fall.

.ed harcourt - "here be monsters"(2001)
herebemonsters
this is one of the records you can almost always listen to as well. this is one of my favourite records of all times. i've listened to it a lot during this year.

.regina spektor - "begin to hope" (2006)
begintohope
this record will always mean something special to me. i adore the number 'samson' which will always have a special place in my heart as it reminds me of someone special...

.velvet underground - "loaded" (1970)
loaded
i love love loooove that record. i always listen to it at least a hundred times during the summertime as it has the nicest vibes and brings you back in time.

.whirlwind heat - "types of wood" (2006)
whirlwind heat - types of wood
i discovered this band quite accidental. the number 'reagan' was perfect for my mood right after roskilde festival. so i bought this record and actually didn't like any other numbers than 'reagan'. but in the fall i found it again and the rest of the numbers suited me well. they were the start of my growing interest in british bands.

.wolfmother - "wolfmother" (2006)
wolfmother
the second best record of the summer. it rocks all the way through! it reminds me of this lovely warm summer night in my parents garden where i sat drinking drinks and tried to drown the neighbours' party with wolfmother while i tried to get myself ready for this special meeting at knud's later that evening.

.libertines - "up the bracket" (2002)
up-the-bracket
as my interest in british bands grew stronger and stronger during this fall, a friend of mine reminded me of this brilliant band and this record. 'death on the stairs' means a lot to me.

.belle and sebastian - "dear catastrophe waitress" (2003)
dearcatastrophe
i've adored this band for ages. this record is the greatest. so lovely. just thinking about it makes me wanna dance.

.tim christensen - "secrets on parade" (2000)
sop
this record will always have the most special place in my heart. i recently rediscovered why it is so great. the lyrics suit me very well these days. and it's one of the records where i know all the details by heart.

i could probably go on...but these records would do it for 2006. hope i haven't lost you during this unbelievable long entry...

and to all...a happy new year!